生活在塞舌尔

生活在塞舌尔

塞舌尔是一个小岛屿发展中国家(SIDS),人口近 95,000 人。自 1976 年独立以来,塞舌尔取得了显著的社会和经济进步,政府致力于以人为本的发展,提高塞舌尔所有居民的生活质量。

 

塞舌尔群岛的美丽风光和自然资源促进了旅游业和渔业的蓬勃发展,多年来为塞舌尔的经济提供了支持,并创造了现在的全球知名度。这种知名度为塞舌尔带来了大量本地、地区和国际投资,不仅是旅游业和渔业,还有建筑、房地产、零售和信息通信技术等其他行业。

 

因此,更多的基础设施、工作岗位、住宅、设施和服务应运而生,为人们提供了更加舒适、愉快的现代生活。

 

在塞舌尔,16 岁以下儿童接受义务教育,18 岁以下儿童从学前班到中学接受免费教育。塞舌尔目前有 39 所公立学校、9 所中学后学校、4 所私立学校和 1 所大学(塞舌尔大学)。

 

政府确保人民获得优质教育。完成中等教育的学生可以在他们选择的师范教育、商业、人文和科学以及酒店/旅游领域接受进一步培训。随着经济的发展和投资机会的增多,需要大幅提高国家的技能能力,使当地人能够投资或受雇于利润更丰厚/薪酬更高的专业服务行业。这就需要教育机构和特殊技能培训中心来满足需求。

 

同样,我们拥有广阔的专属经济区(EEZ),因此塞舌尔非常适合开办生态和海洋类大学和研究中心。

马埃岛、普拉兰岛和拉迪格岛是塞舌尔的主要居住岛屿,这些岛屿的土地被划分为不同的区域。这里有一系列住宅可供选择,包括出租和出售。住房类型从豪华公寓和别墅到经济实惠的单间公寓、半独立式房屋和独立式房屋应有尽有。

 

土地和住房部(MLH)负责为该国公民提供适当的住房,并在各岛屿开发了许多住房社区。该部的目标是到 2020 年建造 1 118 套住房。

 

近年来,私人住宅项目也在不断增加,例如伊甸岛、伊甸景观村和潘吉亚海滩等,为当地人和外国人提供了更高端的选择。

多年来,塞舌尔的银行业得到了长足发展。目前,塞舌尔有七家商业/零售银行、一家开发银行、一家离岸银行和两家住房抵押/合作银行。除了创造就业和财富外,这些银行还共同创建了一个金融市场,将资源分配给经济的生产部门。

 

塞舌尔公民的月薪逐步征税,免税起征点为 8 555.51 塞舌尔卢比。

 

非塞舌尔籍雇员也要缴纳累进所得税,起征点为 15%,没有免税起征点。对企业而言,增值税(VAT)是一种消费税,对在入境点提供并在销售点收取的商品和服务销售额征收。其他税种也适用于企业。有关税种的完整清单,请访问塞舌尔税收委员会网站。 

主岛马埃岛的交通系统十分发达,双车道高速公路、主干道和次干道环绕海岸和山脉,为环岛交通提供了便利。普拉兰岛是塞舌尔人口第二多的岛屿,有一条环岛主干道和通往住宅区、酒店等地的其他次干道。

 

岛上最受欢迎的交通工具是公共汽车,因为它价格低廉,而且大多数线路都有公共汽车。前往拉迪格岛只能乘坐渡轮,岛上的主要交通工具是自行车、牛车或电动车。一条主要的轮渡线路每天在这三个岛屿之间提供多个航班。此外,还可以租车或乘坐出租车。

 

由于旅游景点之间的距离相对较短,目前还没有铁路或空中列车。两个主要岛屿上的大部分人口也都是驾车出行。这就意味着要不断改善和发展道路基础设施,如拓宽道路、增加车道或设置更多环岛。通过定期的国内航班或乘船旅行,马埃岛和普拉兰岛这两个主岛以及一些外岛之间的旅行变得非常方便。还可以乘坐直升机前往一些岛屿。

塞舌尔政府为所有公民提供免费医疗服务。三个主要岛屿上共有六家医院,还有十七个医疗中心提供基本医疗服务。快速发展的私营医疗保健部门也为居民提供更专业的服务,其中包括眼科、牙科和妇科等专科诊所。

最新消息

视频

Living in Seychelles

Seychelles is a Small Island Developing State (SIDS) with a population of close to 95,000. From its independence in 1976, the country has made remarkable social and economic progress, with government committed to people-centered development and bettering the quality of life for all residents of Seychelles.

 

The beauty of the islands and its natural resources have been used to foster vibrant tourism and fisheries sectors, which have not only supported the economy over the years but created the global visibility that Seychelles now has. This visibility has brought an influx of local, regional and international investments in the country, not only in tourism and fisheries, but in other sectors such as construction, real estate, retail, ICT, amongst others. As such, more infrastructure, jobs, homes, facilities and services have been created to provide a more comfortable, enjoyable and modern way of life. 

 

Education

In Seychelles, education is compulsory up to the age of 16 years and free from pre-school through to secondary school until the age of 18 years. There are currently 39 state schools, 9 post-secondary schools, 4 private schools and 1 university; University of Seychelles.

 

The government ensures access to quality education to the population. Students who complete their secondary education can attend further training in their field of choice in teacher education, business, humanities and science, and hotels/tourism. A growing economy with greater investment opportunities will require a significant increase in the country’s skills capacity, allowing for locals to invest or be employed in more lucrative/higher paid specialized services. This will require educational institutions and special skills training centres to support the demand.

 

Similarly our large Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) makes Seychelles ideal for the opening of Ecological and Maritime based universities and research centres.

Housing

Mahe, Praslin and La Digue are the main inhabited islands of the Seychelles, where land is divided into districts. A range of residential options are available, both for rent and for sale. Housing can range from luxury apartments and villas to more affordable studio apartments, semi-detached and detached houses.

 

The Ministry of Housing, Infrastructure, Land Use and Transport (MHILT) is responsible for facilitating adequate housing to the citizens of the country and has developed numerous housing communities on the islands. Its target is to build a total of 1,118 houses by 2020.

 

Private housing projects have also been on the rise over the years, with the likes of Eden Island, Eden View Village and Pangia Beach for example, offering a more high-end choice to locals and foreigners alike.

Banking and Taxes

Banking in Seychelles has developed substantially over the years. There are currently seven commercial/retail banks, one development bank, one offshore bank, and two housing mortgage/cooperative banks operating in Seychelles. Aside from creating jobs and wealth, together they create a financial market place that allocates resources to the productive sectors of the economy.

 

Monthly salaries earned by Seychellois citizens are progressively taxed, with SCR 8,555.51 as a tax-free threshold.

 

Non-Seychellois employees also pay a progressive income tax rate starting at 15%, with no tax-free threshold. For businesses, Value Added Tax (VAT) is a consumption tax levied on the sales of goods and services provided at the point of entry and charged at the point of sale. Other taxes are also applicable for businesses. For the complete list of taxes, visit the Seychelles Revenue Commission website

Transport

The transport system on the main island of Mahe is well-developed, with two-lane highways, primary and secondary roads running around the coast as well as across the mountains, giving easy access around the island. Praslin, the second-most inhabited island in Seychelles is serviced by one main road around the island, and other secondary roads leading to housing communities, hotels etc.

 

The most popular mode of transport on the islands is the bus, because of its affordability and its service to most routes. The island of La Digue is only accessible by ferry and the main modes of transport there are the bicycle, ox-cart or electric buggy. One main ferry line provides several trips per day between these three islands. There is also the availability of car hires and taxis.

 

Due to the relatively short travelling distances between places of interest, there are currently no railways or sky trains. A large percentage of the population on the two main islands also travels by car. This has meant constant work to improve and develop road infrastructure; be it the widening of roads, adding extra lanes, or creating more roundabouts. Travelling between the main islands of Mahe and Praslin, as well as some outer islands, has been made easy through regular domestic flights, or through boat trips. Helicopter trips are also available to some islands.

Health

The Government of Seychelles offers free healthcare for all citizens of the country. There are six hospitals in total between the three main islands, as well as seventeen health centers offering basic healthcare. The rapidly developing private health care sector is also offering more specialized services to the population, with clinics specializing in eye care, dentistry, gynecology to name a few.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Copyright © 2018 Invest in Seychelles

Search